Eligibility is based on an employee’s circumstances at the time of hire and prior to hire. There are currently 10 categories or Target Groups of eligible employees.  Eligible employees must be Certified as eligible by the State Workforce Agency of the state where they work.

Here is the basic list of the Target Groups for WOTC:

  • Qualified IV-A Recipient
  • Qualified Veteran
  • Ex-Felon
  • Designated Community Resident (DCR)
  • Vocational Rehabilitation Referral
  • Summer Youth Employee
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Recipient
  • Long-Term Family Assistance Recipient
  • Qualified Long-Term Unemployment Recipient